hoping in God, not a god who gives you things. – monday’s musings

In effort to start updating this blog more consistently, I’m starting a segment called “Monday Musing with Manderz”. Titled that mostly because I love alliteration, and partly because the rest of the world obviously needs to know my nickname. (: Without further ado, here’s the first installment.

Lately well meaning people, and dear friends, have consistently been telling me God has somethings better in store for me – someone better, something bigger, something other than what I “have” now. I’m thankful for their encouragement, and willingness to listen to me when I’m tired of trying to figure things out in my head, but I just don’t, and can’t, agree with that statement. From a worldly perspective, it makes total sense.  Be an optimist- “The grass is always greener on the other side”; “Better things are right around the corner”; “All things get better with time.”.

But what if better days aren’t right around the corner?  What if I spend everyday looking forward to the day God makes things “better”?

I think my biggest issue with the phrase “God has something better for you.” is that it implies what He has given me now isn’t enough. It gives me hope, not in God, but in a god who gives me things. And if that’s the case, I’m not trusting and hoping in the Lord, but rather, an idol I’m cleverly trying to disguise as god.

Why do we as humans think we are entitled to anything that God graciously gives us?

Now, I do believe that God knows what is best for us, but that’s exactly it – HE knows what is best for us, and that doesn’t always align with what the world thinks is best.

This past Sunday we finished our series on Matthew with the second half of Matthew 20 (found here). In it, Greg said something that totally resonated with me. “What if it is Jesus’ will that you struggle through your problem for the rest of your life? Will Jesus still be worth following then?”

So what if my life never gets better in the worldly sense of the word? What if I don’t get an amazing job with a great salary? What if I never get married or have children? Or what if nothing ever happens to me that looks like success to the world? Will that be okay with me? Yes. Will it be hard? Absolutely, no doubt about it.  But my hope is not in things of this world, but in a Savior that has conquered death. In a God who loves me, loves you, so much He sent His Son to a die a death that we deserve 100%. A Father who has already done more for me than I deserve.  Because truthfully, the only thing I deserve is death and eternal separation from God. But God, being rich in mercy, has called me to Him, giving me the ultimate gift of eternal life and communion with Him.

And that is the most hopeful and joyous thing that I could possibly hear, regardless of the current circumstance of life. What worldly thing could possibly be better than that? Marriage, children, a job, all of those things are great.  They are not bad things to desire. But those things are a gift from God. The problem with them is when we start wanting them more than we want God. When they become the idols of our hearts. So want them. But want God more.

My hope is not in a god who gives me things.  My hope is in the one Eternal, Faithful, Good, Omniscient, Holy, Loving, Just, Merciful, Wrathful, Wise, Sovereign God.  And that is better.  Actually, that’s the best.

“I will be joyful in God my Savior.
The Sovereign Lord is my strength” – Habakkuk 3:18b-19a

And a photo just because –

 

Last week while walking to campus I witnessed a beautiful sunrise over Old Louisville. I found it to be a great reminder of how God is in charge of all things… even beautiful sunrises.

2 thoughts on “hoping in God, not a god who gives you things. – monday’s musings

Leave a Reply

